Why Writing Heals Your Readers

Corinne Casazza

Corinne Casazza

Somewhere in my being, I’ve always known that writing is healing. I believe it heals both the writer and the reader. I say ‘somewhere in my being’ because on some level I knew it, but I didn’t believe it consciously. I’d think, this can help people. Then, Nah, I don’t know why that would work.

I had this internal conflict going on about what I’m working on now, so I’ve had GREAT resistance to writing it. The other night before bed I asked in meditation what the purpose of my new book is. The answer came, “To speak my truth in a heartfelt way that helps people heal.”

The next day I had a session with my spiritual teacher. He took me through a meditation to heal one of my past lives in Egypt (if you read “Walk Like an Egyptian,” it’s in there). I rewrote the ending to this life as meeting my mentor who taught me empowered communication. She taught me to write and my writing was healing people.

I said, “I know storytelling is supposed to be healing, but I just don’t get it.”

“Corinne,” he said to me, “when you read, everything goes straight into your unconscious.”

And just like that I got it! I heard that little “ding, ding, ding!” in my head and felt the knowing that it’s  the truth.

“Oh my God! Of course that’s how it works,” I said. “Talk about a captive audience.”

“That’s right,” my teacher cautioned, “You’re putting stuff in people’s heads, so you better be in integrity with what you’re telling them.”

OK, one more writing block out of the way!

If you want to know more about how writing heals the writer, read my post “Writing as Healing.” I discuss how during the writing of my first book, I recalled conversations from the dinner table 30 years earlier – ver batim! Yep. Word. For. Word. Talk about healing!

If you want to learn more about Kevin Michael, my incredible teacher, check out his Facebook page.

Corinne’s novel, Walk Like an Egyptian is available at Amazon.com or from Llumina Press.

Check out Corinne’s Facebook Fan Page for tips for beginning writers.

Follow Corinne on Twitter @CorinneCasazza

Visit Corinne’s Web site: http://www.CasazzaWriting.com

Explore posts in the same categories: Corinne L. Casazza, Healing, Non-fiction, Spirituality, Writing

Tags: , , , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

